Map

Prevention

Since 2005, the Emergency and Fire Protection Department has included a division dedicated to prevention. Its mission is to prevent fires by studying past incidents, conducting awareness campaigns, visiting homes and businesses and enforcing strict by-laws.

To ensure citizens’ safety, fire prevention inspectors enforce standards and municipal by-laws in keeping with the Vaudreuil-Soulanges RCM’s risk management plan.

  • Awareness-raising activities

    In prevention, a great deal of the work centres on education. Every year the Department visits the Town’s four schools, its daycare centres and its low-income housing to encourage children and seniors to take certain safety precautions.

    The Department also organizes information stands at various events, including the Fire Station open house, the “Grande Évacuation” and Firemen’s Day. The goal is to educate the public about fire safety.

  • Home inspections

    The Emergency and Fire Protection Department visits close to 1,000 homes every year, especially in the summer, to check that smoke detectors and other fire safety equipment are working properly.

    During their visit, the inspectors will test your smoke detector using simulated smoke. They will then check your heating system and electrical panel to look for potential fire hazards. You’ll also receive tips on making your home safer and how to prepare for a range of emergency situations.

    If you’re not at home when our inspectors stop by, they will leave a door-hanger with the Department’s telephone number so that you can make an appointment for another day.

  • Business inspections

    Businesses are required to meet the standards and regulations established under the Construction Code and the fire prevention code in effect in Pincourt. Consequently, our fire prevention inspectors also visit Pincourt’s businesses to maintain an adequate level of fire safety for personnel and customers.

    During their visit, they note any anomalies and issue notices of non-compliance. The owners will then have to make the required changes promptly.

Carte

Prévention

Depuis 2005, le Service d’urgence et de protection incendie comprend une division vouée à la prévention. Sa mission est de prévenir les incendies au moyen d’analyse des incidents, d’activités de sensibilisation, de visites résidentielles et commerciales et d’une réglementation stricte.

Pour assurer la sécurité des citoyens, les préventionnistes appliquent les normes et les règlements municipaux en concordance avec le Schéma de couverture de risques de la MRC de Vaudreuil-Soulanges.

  • Activités de sensibilisation

    En prévention, le gros du travail réside dans l’éducation. Le service visite annuellement les 4 écoles, les centres de la petite enfance et les habitations à loyer modique de son territoire pour encourager les enfants et les personnes âgées à adopter des comportements sécuritaires.

    Le service tient aussi des kiosques d’information lors de divers évènements, comme la journée portes ouvertes à la caserne, la Grande Évacuation et la Journée des pompiers, pour sensibiliser la population à l’importance de la sécurité incendie.

  • Inspection résidentielle

    Le Service d’urgence et de protection incendie visite annuellement près de 1 000 résidences, surtout l’été, pour vérifier le bon fonctionnement des avertisseurs de fumée et de divers équipements ayant une incidence sur la sécurité incendie.

    Lors de leur visite, les préventionnistes mettent à l’essai votre avertisseur de fumée à l’aide d’une fumée simulée synthétiquement. Ils vérifient ensuite votre système de chauffage et votre panneau électrique pour détecter les risques potentiels d’incendie. Vous recevrez aussi divers conseils pour modifier certains comportements et pour vous préparer à faire face à différentes situations d’urgence.

    Si vous êtes absent lors de leur visite, les préventionnistes laisseront un accroche-porte avec le numéro de téléphone du service pour que vous puissiez prendre un rendez-vous.

  • Inspection commerciale

    Le secteur commercial doit se conformer aux normes et règles établies par le Code de construction et le Code de prévention des incendies en vigueur à Pincourt. C’est pourquoi les préventionnistes visitent aussi les commerces du territoire pour maintenir un niveau adéquat de sécurité incendie pour les clients et le personnel.

    Durant leur visite, ils notent les anomalies et émettent des avis de non-conformité s’il y a lieu. Les propriétaires devront par la suite apporter les corrections nécessaires dans les meilleurs délais.